Mike Freedman is a highly sought-after guitarist, composer and band leader who has been working as a professional musician in Toronto, Canada for over 30 years. Into the Daybreak, his album of original instrumental jazz tunes, was recently released to critical acclaim, reaching #1 on the CFUV jazz radio charts and charting on many others, including the Jazz Weekly charts, where it reached #204. It currently is receiving frequent radio airplay across Canada and the US. 
A graduate of Berklee College Of Music, Mike has toured, recorded and co-written extensively with other artists including;  Tia Brazda, The Willows, Steven Taetz, Denielle Bassels, Barbra Lica and many more.  As a co-writer and performer with Tia Brazda, Mike has performed on world stages including; Montreaux Jazz Festival, Montreal Jazz Festival and The TD Jazz Festival to name a few. Working with other artists, Mike has seen several of the albums reach #1 on the itunes Jazz charts, including three of Tia Brazda's albums.   Mike's has three instrumental albums out and his music continues to be heard internationally in film, TV and radio.   



Mike Freedman's latest CD, Into The Daybreak features 9 of Mike’s tunes which blend his love of many different styles of music, ranging from jazz, latin, to blues and ambient music. This album is Mike’s debut as a leader and his first instrumental jazz album.    Charting on many jazz radio charts, including #1 on the CFUV charts,  Mike's album was voted as one of the top 25 albums of the year by Jazz.FM in 2021.  It also received 3rd place by One World Music Awards in the jazz category.
These 9 contrasting and colourful tunes glimmer with inspired performances and vibrancy. Mike worked closely with Grammy nominated engineer Jeremy Darby, who helped to capture a clear yet natural snapshot of these inspired tunes. The tracks are filled with memorable melodies, beautiful solos, and heartfelt playing. Well respected musicians including Jeremy Ledbetter (piano), Max Senitt (drums), Chris Gale (sax) and Alexis Baro (trumpet) played on the album and are also part of the live shows. The album has done extremely well on jazz radio over the last year, receiving regular airplay on Jazz FM and other jazz stations. It has charted on many radio charts including #1 on the CFUV charts and #159 on the International Jazz Weekly Charts.    
Mike and his band have begun performing live over the last year, including a CD showcase at Small World Music Centre. Mike brings over 20 years of touring and live performing at clubs and venues as well as on large festival stages to his project. The band has created a stellar and dynamic performance that continues to win audiences and fans.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Press Photos

Studio Recording Highlights

Live Video Highlights